Sonata Canonica (2012)

Duration: 27 minutes

Violin and Piano

1st Movement

Make an enquiry
2nd Movement

3rd movement

Programme Note

Sonata Canonica, for violin and piano, is in three movements and lasts about 26 minutes. Its title comes from the fact that it contains a canon by inversion throughout. However, it isn't necessary for a listener to be aware of this: my principal aim was to create an attractive, engaging and idiomatic piece of violin music.

In the sonata form first movement, the piano part is a canon by inversion about the axis E/F above middle C at a bar's distance, while the violin part is free. The slower second movement is a strict canon by inversion with all of the violin and piano's music being canonic: the violin part is now echoed in the bass register of the piano. The last movement, in loose rondo form, is again a strict canon by inversion around E/F, but with the violin and piano now being equal voices. A short coda recalls the opening of the first movement, with the violin's music now part of the canon rather than free.

Copyright Alan Charlton 2013 all rights reserved
Last revised 23 February 2013